India defeats Sri Lanka in Asia Cup 2023 final: A unique perspective

I was particularly impressed with Virat Kohli and Rishabh Pant. Kohli scored a brilliant half-century, and Pant finished the match with a quick-fire unbeaten 50.

India’s bowlers were so excellent especially Siraj who took six wickets, and was the most destructive bowler on the pitch.

Siraj’s fiery over

Siraj started his bowling spell with a maiden, beating Kusal Mendis’ outside edge four times. In his next over, he unleashed a fiery spell to take four wickets in four balls. He dismissed Pathum Nissanka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka and Dhananjaya de Silva. Siraj completed his maiden ODI five-wicket haul by dismissing Dasun Shanaka in his next over.

Sri Lanka’s collapse

At 12 for 6, Sri Lanka were in tatters. Mendis and Dunith Wellalage added some respectability to the scoreboard with a 21-run stand for the seventh wicket, but Siraj got one to nip back to rattle Mendis’ middle stump. Hardik Pandya then wrapped up the innings with three quick wickets.

India’s easy chase

Gill and Kishan faced no trouble in chasing down the paltry target. Gill opened his account by flicking Pramod Madushan for four on the last ball of the first over. Kishan struck back-to-back fours off Matheesha Pathirana, only for Gill to go one up on him in the next over with three in three balls. Kishan sealed the win with a single to long-off in the seventh over.


Siraj’s fiery over and five-wicket haul were the highlights of the match. He completely destroyed the Sri Lankan batting line-up and helped India to a comfortable victory.

Sri Lanka  (50 ovs maximum)

Pathum Nissanka                    c Jadeja b Mohammed Siraj                2 (4)

Kusal Perera                            c †Rahul b Bumrah                             0 (2)

Kusal Mendis †                       b Mohammed Siraj                              17 (34)

Sadeera Samarawickrama       lbw b Mohammed Siraj                       0 (2)

Charith Asalanka                    c Ishan Kishan b Mohammed Siraj     0 (1)

Dhananjaya de Silva               c †Rahul b Mohammed Siraj              4 (2)

Dasun Shanaka (c)                  b Mohammed Siraj                              0 (4)

Dunith Wellalage                    c †Rahul b Pandya                              8 (21)

Dushan Hemantha                  not out                                                 8 (21)

Pramod Madushan                  c Kohli b Pandya                                1 (6)

Matheesha Pathirana               c Ishan Kishan b Pandya                    0 (1)

Extras                                      (lb 2, w 3)                                            5

Total                                        15.2 Ov (RR: 3.26)                             50


India  (T: 51 runs from 50 ovs)

Ishan Kishan                           not out                                                 23 (18)

Shubman Gill                          not out                                                 27 (19))

Extras                                      (lb 1, w 0)                                            1

Total                                        6.1 Ov (RR: 8.27)                               51/0

Player of The Match

Player of The Series

Bharath Lifting the Asia Cup 2023

Leave a Comment